Leadership Team

Derek Kaufman, Chief Executive Officer

Derek Kaufman has served as Mission Motors’ COO since 2012. For 35 years, he has worked in the Transportation Industry with positions ranging from VP Worldwide Service for Euclid Trucks to VP Marketing and Product Planning for Freightliner Corporation and several roles within Penske Corporation including Senior VP of Sales, Marketing and Customer Support for Hino Trucks, President of Diesel Technology Co and VP of Fixed Operations for smart USA. In addition to these corporate positions, Mr. Kaufman is an entrepreneur who founded C3 Network, where for 12 years he helped clients launch new leading edge technology products in the automotive and transportation industries. In addition to his management role at Mission Motors, Mr. Kaufman serves on several corporate boards and writes and speaks on technology trends.

Jit Bhattacharya, President

Jit Bhattachary served as Mission Motors' President since 2013. Jit began working in the energy industry in 2005 while designing and implementing solar energy systems for off-grid businesses in South Africa. In 2007, Jit began studying lithium-ion battery technology and the array of business models driving the electric vehicle industry. Jit joined Mission as Chief Operating Officer in 2008 and served as CEO from 2009 through the end of 2012. Jit holds a Master's in mechanical engineering from Stanford and an MBA from the Haas School of Business at UC Berkeley.

Jorah Wyer, Executive Vice President

Jorah Wyer has served as Vice President of Engineering at Mission Motors since 2010. Mr. Wyer has spent the last 16 years taking over 20 high technology products from concept to market in everything from consumer products to medical devices. He was a founder and lead developer of the Coffee Equipment Company which was eventually purchased by Starbucks. Mr. Wyer has also worked as a program manager and technical lead at Ximedica, where he facilitated product development of medical devices. He earned his bachelor's degree in electro-mechanical engineering at Stanford University.


Mason Cabot

Forrest North

Edward West